All Aboard the Mule Train!

Being the cool and chummy creative designer that I surely am not, today I was asked to join a competition to design the new logo for the university frisbee team, the CSU Falcons.

As a special bonus, I also designed the new shirts. But first, the logo:

frisbeelogo copy

I’ve heard various things about what the falcon is carrying – some suggest a bell, others have said landmine. Although I did originally design it as a frisbee, I am rather fond of the landmine idea. I’m sure if the frisbeeletes were throwing landmines around the field, the game would be much more/ much less in the public eye.

I did seven or so designs for the shirts using the red and white team colours and sticking to a design which “wasn’t too girly” and would also suit the type of shirts the team will be using. This is my favourite:

frisbeeshirt2

The back wouldn’t be grey, but the team already has its specifications for what the layout on the back. Caw caw! Look at that dodo throw those landmines, oh yeah.

Well well. So I thought my heavy designing labour was over for the day. But it was not to be. Later that day I was shockingly reminded that I had been asked to design the logo for Mule Train Industries, front manned by the diabolically enigmatic Mule. I conferred with Mule over what he wanted, and where the logo would go, and came up with this;

muletraingreen copy

a mule pulling a train carriage. I like this, I really do. Not just the design but the colours, it could be a postcard sold at some train station. Some station serviced by the mule train. Wheeet! The mule in this design is refined from a horse, and the carriage is an actual carriage, although I’ve forgotten the name.

We refined this picture into a banner and square logo. It looks very pro. I’m still just charmed by the colours. Simple minds, eh?

About Anneque D. Machelle

Anneque "Dangerpus" Machelle (rhymes with ranger wuss) is a rebel and a rogue from way out west. Strictly banned from interactions with other human beings, she spends her days amongst molluscs, dogs and lizards, whom she counts as her closest friends.
This entry was posted in Photo a Day, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

