Water Under the Sea

Well, today I broke up with Ryan, which I do every so often, and the scenery definitely fit the mood;

2013-03-17 12.33.43

If you focus on the water it fit the mood, anyway. The wind was persistent and cold, there was a short spillway behind us, the teeny spillway of Ben Chifley dam outside of Bathurst. Very sadly there were  a number of turtles, quite deceased, on the bottom of the spillway. They had either crawled over the ledge into the abyss, as the railing was no obstacle to them, or they had been picked up and dropped by local eagles. I suppose they could have been thrown off, but due to their numbers and the difficulty in finding turtles, I chose to have more faith in my fellow human beings than that.

Blame the eagles instead, those dastardly feathery bastards.

Well, since we couldn’t save the turtles, and had just punched our relationship time card, we headed back into Bathurst. I packed my stuff and left, and got about 50km down the road towards Tumut after an entirely distressing afternoon, when I thought, well hell, I do love him, so I turned the car around and came back.

So we sorted things out. I suppose once in a while, airing out the relationship really helps. You get everything out there, you talk about it, you get over it. Better to do that than let it build up for years. But I’ve broken up with Ryan a few times now, and it’s definitely one of my least favourite things to do. You know, it isn’t a good day, it isn’t a good feeling, and when it isn’t a good feeling and there’s no relief in it, you know the decision is a bad one.

I really don’t know anything at all about relationships, except that I’m not talented with them, and am especially bad at the one I’m currently in.

Besides, I’d hate to lose my adventure buddy. That would be like Finn leaving Jake behind. Holy Hitchens I couldn’t take it. That’s just too sad.

About Anneque D. Machelle

Anneque "Dangerpus" Machelle (rhymes with ranger wuss) is a rebel and a rogue from way out west. Strictly banned from interactions with other human beings, she spends her days amongst molluscs, dogs and lizards, whom she counts as her closest friends.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Photo a Day and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

