Good Morning Tyrannosaur

I somewhat regret not having a picture of this place from outside, especially from across the road from our window. Every morning in what is now the old apartment, I woke up and looked outside to see this absolute beauty, the T-rex sign outside the Bathurst Fossil and Mineral Museum.

Since I don’t have a picture of it, and maybe you don’t either as the picture I linked was incredibly huge, let’s start from the inside.

As you might expect from the name, the fossil and mineral museum is full of fossils and minerals. Most of the minerals come from the single collection of a local collector. I look at my rocks from around the place lining my bookshelf and it seems quite sad in comparison. I mean, basalt is good, but it isn’t exactly Colorado calcite. Even my shiny piece of chert, which I love, is very obviously just a lump of brown rock compared to a geode the size of an air conditioner.

I have some good photos from the museum, and some bad (including the geode), and the following are a combination of my favourites and those which turned out semi decently.

2013-03-11 11.47.19 2013-03-11 12.07.31 2013-03-11 12.11.55 2013-03-11 12.17.59

and fossils;

2013-03-11 12.19.10 2013-03-11 12.26.09 2013-03-11 12.26.16

But wait! There’s also pic of the day 93;

2013-03-11 12.20.59

and then these;

2013-03-11 12.28.21 2013-03-11 12.30.19

and finally, Big Red again!

2013-03-11 12.30.38

That’s the museum. It’s great. I spent a demented amount of time in the mineral collection.  There are hundreds of pieces from all across the world. And more fossils, opalised seashells and the rest. Afterwards I was left feeling very satisfied, and young, and very glad that I have my very own shiny lump of chert.

And now, Super Duck Punch calls.

About Anneque D. Machelle

Anneque "Dangerpus" Machelle (rhymes with ranger wuss) is a rebel and a rogue from way out west. Strictly banned from interactions with other human beings, she spends her days amongst molluscs, dogs and lizards, whom she counts as her closest friends.
This entry was posted in Culture, Photo a Day and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

