The Hot and Cold

Picture of the Day 30: all the champs in the water, the Junction

2013-01-06 12.17.49

What a wonderful day. 🙂 There were twelve of us headed to the Junction today – my parents, two of my brothers and their families. If you’ll remember, the Junction in Tumut is where the Tumut River, flowing from Blowering Dam, meets the Goobagandra River, flowing from the mountains.

Being at a rather more rapid trot, the Tumut River habitually backs up the Goobagandra, meaning the water on one side of the Junction is slow and warm, while the other is fast and cold. Never has this been more noticeable than today! We jumped into the warm waters of the Goob. My brother Craig and I did a lap of the island between the two rivers. Coming around the island on the Tumut River side, the coldness of the water took my breath away. I could hardly move! When I jumped in the Goob in the middle of winter, it wasn’t as cold as this. As Craig said when we compared notes, it would be very easy to contract hypothermia in the cold water. Buuuuuut…. of course we went back to the Goob. 😀

2013-01-06 11.54.57

You think it looks warm, but it’s about 4 degrees.

2013-01-06 11.54.48

We were far from the only ones in the water today. There were at least five canoes that went past us, more families, and next to us, a good sized group of Chinese students. The students, unfamiliar with the area, tried their luck in the Tumut River – and man did they shout. I don’t know if any of them lasted more than a minute in the water before running back to the bank. 😀 However, they soon joined us in the warmer water, and all was good.

Ah well, it’s just that kind of cruisey day. It’s 43 degrees C again, muggy and scorching hot. The temperature only dropped to 37 overnight, which of course meant we were just slightly livelier than the dead today. That didn’t stop my nephew and I from swinging on ropes and leaping from trees into the water. Sax tried surfing again, and stayed with it a little more this time (although he jumped overboard to steal a ball from neighbouring children). My younger nephew entertained us with a crab dance, and then he and I performed bug water rescue for the numerous Christmas beetles attempting to swim to shore.

Of course, not all the bugs we found were in the water:

2013-01-06 13.13.10

There was also a fair share of cicadas in the trees!

Days like this remind me of those summers growing up. I hope they’re just as happy as those days were for my nephews and nieces. But do you know, having started this blog, and made resolutions, and working hard on my writing, I’m as happy as I’ve ever been. Life is wonderful.

Always!

About Anneque D. Machelle

Anneque "Dangerpus" Machelle (rhymes with ranger wuss) is a rebel and a rogue from way out west. Strictly banned from interactions with other human beings, she spends her days amongst molluscs, dogs and lizards, whom she counts as her closest friends.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Photo a Day, Swimming and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

