Picture of the Day 8

Bathurst rooftops on a rainy Saturday evening

2012-12-15 20.07.12

Another day of catching up. I was about to set off for a ride this morning when there came a knock at the door, and the delivery man greeted me with a very anticipated parcel (this could go in such a different direction right now)… my book! Just my proofing copy, but still! Every time I pick it up and see words I’ve written printed on the pages, it just knocks me senseless. This is hardly the place to plug it, but if you want to check it out, here’s the link to Amazon. It isn’t in stock at the moment because it isn’t in print at the moment, but will be in the next few weeks.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/0987154893/ref=cm_sw_r_fa_dp_Kz.Yqb11YYT6C/279-1625376-7151863

All right, moving on from that ghastly business! Had a great ride up through Kelso today, through the various daunting subdivisions, not all of them places I’d want to walk alone at night. At this time of year the holiday drivers abound and it’s exceedingly easy to be hit by a car, even if you really try to avoid it. It threatened rain all day but never made good.

Tomorrow, we’re headed for the Blue Mountains with a couple of friends to hike. We’re only going as far as Lithgow this time, but I’d love to have a couple of days exploring the hikes around Blackheath, as there you have Hanging Rock, Beauchamp Falls, Cliff Top Track, Fort Rock, Govett’s Leap, Thor Head, Pulpit Rock and so much more to see. Lithgow has Zigzag Track, which overlooks the mountains and the railway line, and Hassan’s Walls lookout, Bracey’s Lookout, etc. The frustrating part of this is that Lithgow has joined forces with Google maps and the rest of information available on the internet to NOT TELL ME HOW TO GET TO BRACEY’S LOOKOUT. Where is it? Where does Eskbank Track start? How far is it? What are the conditions? No, you know what? I know what the conditions are, I can find that information. BUT WHERE IS IT? Seriously, Lithgow tourist information websites, and there are many of you, what even? What are you doing? Don’t tell me about a walk and then make it unfindable! That’s just cruel, and mean, and really, really dumb.

Yeah yeah, I’m taking a deep breath. Tell you what. Tomorrow I’ll go to Lithgow, find the tourist information centre, ask how to get to Bracey’s Lookout and where the Eskbank Track starts, and then I’ll come back and update the websites myself. Sound good? Good. We’re all happy.

HAPPY HAPPY HIKERS

>:0

It really has been a marvellous day. Look forward to our adventures tomorrow – more wild pigs on the way! For now, here’s a picture of my skull, Bill, and my book. Whoop! 😉 Check it out, good-lookin’.

2012-12-15 20.06.24

About Anneque D. Machelle

Anneque "Dangerpus" Machelle (rhymes with ranger wuss) is a rebel and a rogue from way out west. Strictly banned from interactions with other human beings, she spends her days amongst molluscs, dogs and lizards, whom she counts as her closest friends.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Bill, Photo a Day and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

